Google+

Due to the impending winter storm, the College will be closed today, November 26, 2014. Have a happy Thanksgiving and please travel safely.

Clubs and Groups

Student clubs and organizations are a major part of campus life at SCCC. The following is a partial and growing list of organizations that you may want to join. For more information on any of the clubs contact the Student Activities Office at 973-300–2232 or the Club Advisor listed below.

Student Government Association
Purpose: The SGA was formed to recognize clubs by charter; to generate activities of interest to the general student body and to create a representa­tive governing body whose function is to promote within the College, interest and harmony between the students, faculty, and administration of SCCC.
Advisor: Heidi Gregg – hgregg@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2232 Office: D-105a

American Sign Language Club – ASL
Purpose: Congregation of ASL students and others interested in sign language; to further their signing abilities and learn more about ASL and deaf culture.
Advisor: J. Arlene Van Horn – jvanhorn@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4156

Anatomy Freaks Club
Purpose: To help students who are falling behind in anatomy and to sustain interest in the medical field.
Advisor: Jumana Hablawi- jhablawi@sussex.edu      Phone: 973-300-2226 Office: L-108

Anime Club
Purpose: To introduce Anime Japanese animation and Asian culture to students. To view various anime, learn about Japanese culture, and expand understanding of Japanese culture.
Advisor: Rich Linden – rlinden@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2317 Office: D-318

Anthropology Club
Purpose: To inform students and the public on anthropological ideas and to support anthropology students in exploring careers in anthropology.
Advisor: Anthony Balzano-abalzano@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2177 Office: E-131

Biology Club
Purpose: To promote awareness of the biological sciences in the community and to foster projects that impact the environment in a positive way.
Advisor: Dina Conde – dconde@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2324 Office: L-109
Advisor: Robert Larsson – rlarsson@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2170 Office: L-109

Business Club
Purpose: To introduce students to the business community and to help students become successful leaders in their chosen careers.
Advisor: Mary Ellen Donner- mdonner@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2108 Office: E-254A

Campus Crusade for Christ – CRU
Purpose: A place, to find others who are also eagerly seeking spiritual truth through Christianity, to provide purpose for their lives.
Advisor:
Walter Wade – wwade@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-4022 Office: D-207

Catholic Campus Ministry
Purpose: To provide a Catholic presence on campus in an environment that is respectful to the individuality and dignity of each person. To sponsor activities of service, social, cultural, and/or prayerful nature.
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303
Advisor: Bill McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303

Communication Club
Purpose: To service the community and campus with news, information, public relations video/radio and film.
Advisor: Tony Selimo – tselimo@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2229 Office: E-207
Advisor of Film: Michael Hughes – mhughes@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2311 Office: C-204
Advisor of Radio: Frank Hablawi – fhablawi@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2776

Criminal Justice Club
Purpose: explore and expand interests in the Criminal Justice field with hands on experience.
Advisor: William McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2182 Office: E-303
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303

Design Squad
Purpose: To further develop design at SCCC.
Advisor: Sherry Fitzgerald – sfitzgerald@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2127 Office: E-201

Gamers Club
Purpose: To form a group of students who have a sincere interest in gaming and through that union, provide a safe and comfortable place for members to interact, share experience, and educate the community.
Advisor: Frank Hablawi – fhablawi@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2776 Office: D-114

Gamers Chalice (Video Game Design Club)
Purpose: To bring together artists interested in the art of game creation and design flow.
Advisor: Bryce Struck – bstruck@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320×4188

Multicultural and World Language Club
Purpose: To enrich SCCC student’s cultural knowledge and to embrace the diversity of our college population.
Advisor: Dominic J. Carbone – dcarbone@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2329 Office: E-246/CDE Rep.

Performing Arts Club
Purpose: To provide a public outlet for all students interested in any of the performing arts.
Advisor: Bryan Zellmer – bzellmer@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2360 Office: A-214, PAC
Advisor: Stella Trikouros – strikouros@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2189 Office: A-219, PAC

Psychology Club
Purpose: To promote psychological interests and activities through discussions, presentations, guest speakers, and field trips.
Advisors: Deborah Lanza – dlanza@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2753 Office: C-014

Rotaract Club
Purpose: A Rotary International Club for young men and women to serve the needs of their community, broaden their personal and professional contacts and increase their understanding of the world.
Advisor: Karen DiMaria – kdimaria@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2124 Office: B314

SCCC Gay- Straight Alliance – GSA
Purpose: To raise awareness and promote under­standing of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans-gender and straight issues.
Advisor: Meghan Khoury – mkhoury@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2200 Office: D110b

Strength Without Violence Campus Alliance
Purpose: To raise awareness about power based violence.
Advisor: Gwen Frederico-Malone gfrederico-malone @sussex. edu Phone: 973-300-2320- Office: E-246/CDE Rep.

Student Veterans Organization
Purpose: To improve and support services for student veterans and to enhance relationships between student veterans and students as well as the wider surrounding community
Advisor: Frank Ancona fancona@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2192 Office: E305

Ultimate Frisbee Club
Purpose: To promote student interaction by engaging in pick up ultimate Frisbee games
Advisor: Wendy Cooney wcooney@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240

UMADD
Purpose: Campus based student organization concerned about underage and high risk drinking behaviors.
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu Phone: 973 300-2240 Office: E-303
Advisor: William McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2182 Office: E-303

Student United Way Club
Purpose: Give, advocate and volunteer in areas of education, income and health in coordination with the United Way.
Advisor: Maureen-Murphy Smolka msmolka@sussex.edu Office: E107 Phone: 973 300-2196

HONOR SOCIETIES
LEX – Lambda Epsilon Chi, National Paralegal Honor Society – Maryann Rubino 973-300-2321 mrubino@sussex.edu
Mu Alpha Theta, Mathematics Honor Society for two-year colleges – Faith Dillon 973-300-2184 fdillon@sussex.edu
Phi Theta Kappa, International Honor Society for two-year colleges – Lisa Moorman 973-300-2206 lmoorman@sussex.edu
Psi Beta Psychology Honor Society – Melanie Arpaio 973-300-2146 marpaio@sussex.edu