Google+
 

Clubs and Groups

Student clubs and organizations are a major part of campus life at SCCC. For more information on any of the clubs, contact the Office of Campus Life at 973-300–2180 or the Club Advisor listed below.

Student Government Association
Purpose: The SGA was formed to recognize clubs by charter; to generate activities of interest to the general student body and to create a representa­tive governing body whose function is to promote within the College, interest and harmony between the students, faculty, and administration of SCCC.
Advisor: Campus Life  Phone: 973-300-2200

Adventure Club
Purpose: To communicate and demonstrate deep appreciation of the natural world around us. Go on hikes, clean our campus trails and to reduce the impact humans leave on the natural world.
Advisor: Anthony Balzano – abalzano@sussex.edu

American Sign Language Club – ASL
Purpose: Congregation of ASL students and others interested in sign language; to further their signing abilities and learn more about ASL and deaf culture.
Advisor: J. Arlene Van Horn – jvanhorn@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4156

Anatomy Freaks Club
Purpose: To help students who are falling behind in anatomy and to sustain interest in the medical field.
Advisor: Jumana Hablawi- jhablawi@sussex.edu      Phone: 973-300-2226 Office: L-108

Anime Club
Purpose: To introduce Anime Japanese animation and Asian culture to students. To view various anime, learn about Japanese culture, and expand understanding of Japanese culture.
Advisor: Melanie Arpaio – marpaio@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2146 Office: C-015

Another Option
Purpose: To provide students another option for friendship building and social events without alcohol or drug involvement and/or pressure.
Advisor: Deborah Lanza – dlanza@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2753 Office: C-014

Anthropology Geeks
Purpose: To inform students and the public on anthropological ideas and to support anthropology students in exploring careers in anthropology.
Advisor: Anthony Balzano – abalzano@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2177 Office: E-131

Authors Ink
Purpose:To inspire and provoke a love of reading, writing, and the enjoyment of literature all around.
Advisor: Dr. Frank Ancona – fancona@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2192 Office: E-305
Advisor: Rich Carpenter – rcarpenter@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4021

Biology Club
Purpose: To promote awareness of the biological sciences in the community and to foster projects that impact the environment in a positive way.
Advisor: Dr. Dina Conde – dconde@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2324 Office: L-109
Advisor: Robert Larsson – rlarsson@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2170 Office: L-109

Business Club
Purpose: To introduce students to the business community and to help students become successful leaders in their chosen careers.
Advisor: Tom Caines – tcaines@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4030
Advisor: Don Jacobson – djacobson@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4127

Campus Crusade for Christ – CRU
Purpose: A place, to find others who are also eagerly seeking spiritual truth through Christianity, to provide purpose for their lives.
Advisor:
Walter Wade – wwade@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-4022 Office: D-207

Catholic Campus Ministry
Purpose: To provide a Catholic presence on campus in an environment that is respectful to the individuality and dignity of each person. To sponsor activities of service, social, cultural, and/or prayerful nature.
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303
Advisor: William McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303

Communication Club
Purpose: To service the community and campus with news, information, public relations video/radio and film.
Advisor: TBA
Phone:
Advisor of Film: Michael Hughes – mhughes@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2311 Office: C-204

Criminal Justice Club
Purpose: explore and expand interests in the Criminal Justice field with hands on experience.
Advisor: William McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2182 Office: E-303
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2240 Office: E-303

Design Squad
Purpose: To further develop design at SCCC.
Advisor: Sherry Fitzgerald – sfitzgerald@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2127 Office: C-204

Fine Arts League
Purpose: To expand the awareness and study of the fine arts at SCCC.
Advisor: Michael Hughes – mhughes@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2311 Office: E-201

Gamers Club
Purpose: To form a group of students who have a sincere interest in gaming and through that union, provide a safe and comfortable place for members to interact, share experience, and educate the community.

Gamers Chalice (Video Game Design Club)
Purpose: To bring together artists interested in the art of game creation and design flow.
Advisor: Sherry Fitzgerald – sfitzgerald@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2127

History Club
Purpose: To inspire and educate the campus on the history of the world.
Advisor: Robyn Izquierdo – rizquierdo@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4179

Human Services Club
Purpose: To apply skills learned in human services classes to improve campus life.
Advisor: Naomi Miller – nmiller@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2190 Office: E-243

Multicultural Club
Purpose: To enrich SCCC students’ cultural knowledge and to embrace the diversity of our college population.
Advisor: Dominic J. Carbone – dcarbone@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2329 Office: E-246/CDE Rep.

Nursing Club
Purpose: To promote health and wellness in our community as well as to support the student nurses at SCCC.
Advisor: Cathy Nelms – cnelms@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2239 Office: A-325

Performing Arts Club
Purpose: To provide a public outlet for all students interested in any of the performing arts.
Advisor: Stella Trikouros – strikouros@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2189 Office: A-219, PAC

Philosopher’s Marketplace
Purpose: To educate and facilitate rational discussion and debate, enlighten and improve community.
Advisor: Amy Rude – arude@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2320 x4159

Progressive Student Union
Advisor: Naomi Miller – arude@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2190 Office: E-243

Psychology Club
Purpose: To promote psychological interests and activities through discussions, presentations, guest speakers, and field trips.
Advisor: Melanie Arpaio – marpaio@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2146 Office: C-015

Rotaract Club
Purpose: A Rotary International Club for young men and women to serve the needs of their community, broaden their personal and professional contacts and increase their understanding of the world.
Advisor: Terri Seibert
Phone: 973-300-2149

SCCC The Spectrum LGBT+
Purpose: To raise awareness and promote under­standing of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans-gender and straight issues.
Advisor: TBA
Phone:   Office: 

Strength Without Violence Campus Alliance
Purpose: To raise awareness about power based violence.
Advisor: Dominic Carbone – dcarbone@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2329 Office: E-246

Student Veterans Organization
Purpose: To improve and support services for student veterans and to enhance relationships between student veterans and students as well as the wider surrounding community
Advisor: Dr. Frank Ancona – fancona@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2192 Office: E305

Technology & Engineering Club
Purpose: To provide an environment for students to keep up to date on the latest technology news, to share computing tips and tricks, development techniques, and much more pertaining to native software, web applications, gaming, gadgets, operating systems, ethics of technology use, etc.
Advisor: Baha Khalil – bkhalil@sussex.edu
Tech Club Sign Up Form
Tech Club Website

Ultimate Frisbee Club
Purpose: To promote student interaction by engaging in pick up ultimate Frisbee games
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu
Phone: 973-300-2240

UMADD
Purpose: Campus based student organization concerned about underage and high risk drinking behaviors.
Advisor: Wendy Cooney – wcooney@sussex.edu Phone: 973 300-2240 Office: E-303
Advisor: William McGovern – wmcgovern@sussex.edu Phone: 973-300-2182 Office: E-303

Student United Way Club
Purpose: Give, advocate and volunteer in areas of education, income and health in coordination with the United Way.
Advisor: Maureen-Murphy Smolka – msmolka@sussex.edu Office: E107 Phone: 973 300-2196

HONOR SOCIETIES
LEX – Lambda Epsilon Chi, National Paralegal Honor Society – Maryann Rubino 973-300-2321 mrubino@sussex.edu
Mu Alpha Theta, Mathematics Honor Society for two-year colleges
Phi Theta Kappa, International Honor Society for two-year colleges – Stephanie Cooper,  973-300-2291 scooper@sussex.edu
Psi Beta Psychology Honor Society – Melanie Arpaio 973-300-2146 marpaio@sussex.edu