« Back to News & Announcements

Honors Partnership signed with Drew

2/3/2019 1:34:36 PM

Administration from Drew University and Sussex gather for a formal picture.

Honors students graduating from Sussex County Community College will now be able to transfer easily to Drew University to complete a baccalaureate program.

Under a new agreement, honors students graduating from Sussex will be able to attend Drew as a fifth-semester student (or Junior). The agreement will also allow students to take courses at Drew in their second year at no charge.

“Our partnership with Drew University is one concrete example of what’s an extraordinary opportunity for our students. And we can’t do it without Drew,” said Jon Connolly, president of SCCC. “We can’t do it without the enthusiasm and your welcoming attitude.”

The students will earn merit-based scholarships of $15,000 or $20,000 based on their GPAs and an additional $1,500 scholarship if they’re members of Phi Theta Kappa. The agreement will go into effect for new SCCC students entering in the Fall 2019 semester with the initial class entering Drew University in Fall 2021.

“These honors partnerships allow students who are transfer students to experience their four-year degree as a whole and experience continuity that is rich and planned,” Drew President MaryAnn Baenninger said.

Students wishing to transfer through the agreement will need to have taken a minimum of four honors courses at SCCC, have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.50, and have met with a Drew University advisor as arranged by SCCC.

Drew University is the latest four-year college that has joined the SCCC "family" with identified transferable degree programs. Other participating colleges include John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Felician College, Berkeley College, Centenary College, East Stroudsburg University, Montclair State University, NJIT, Rutgers University, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Marywood University, Ramapo College, Rutgers University, and William Paterson University.

Sussex County Community College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and offers over 25 Degree Programs with 43 Degree Options.

To learn more about Sussex and its varied degree programs, visit sussex.edu/academics.

For more information on admissions, contact the SCCC admissions department by phone at 973-300-2223, or visit sussex.edu/admissions.

From left to right:  Dr. Mercedes Aguirre Batty, Vice President of Academic Affairs SCCC;  MaryAnn Baenninger, President Drew University, Dr. Jon Connolly, President SCCC;  Debra Liebowitz, Provost Drew University.

Picture provided by Drew University.