« Back to News & Announcements

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members

5/1/2023 1:59:41 PM


Sussex County Community College (SCCC) inducted an amazing group of 10 outstanding students who have shown academic excellence into the most prestigious honor society for community colleges in the United States. A special ceremony was held at the College on April 28 to mark this recognition.   

Phi Theta Kappa International is the honor society for two-year colleges and boasts members throughout the country. Membership is based upon academic achievement. Among the criteria for induction, students must be enrolled in an accredited associate degree program and have a GPA of 3.5 or better. As a member of this organization, these students are eligible to apply for Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarships offered by over 600 four-year colleges and universities located throughout the United States. 

Dr. Jon Connolly, SCCC president, welcomed the students and their families to the reception. Presentation and acceptance of Members was directed by Dr. Kathleen Okay, senior vice president of academic and student affairs.

The following individuals were inducted into PTK at the ceremony: Marley Balkau, Kelly Barta, Ella Brown, Matthew Cardenas, Kelly Carlino, Tyler Charters, Brianna Csengeto, Caitlyn DeMouth, Viviana Pineda, and Melanie Salerno

SCCC provides an array of higher educational opportunities. New Students can register for the summer or fall semesters. For more about SCCC visit sussex.edu.